• 2017 Legislators of the Year

  • The American Council of Engineering Companies of Virginia (ACEC Virginia) has named Virginia Delegate Betsy B. Carr, representing District 69, and Senator Richard Stuart of District 28 as their 2017 Legislators of the Year. 

    The two legislators were recognized at ACEC Virginia’s annual Engineering Excellence Awards Gala on February 2, 2017 at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, Virginia. 


  • Senator Richard Stuart

    Stuart was elected to serve Virginia’s 28th district in 2007. Stuart has been a part of several General Assembly committees during his career, including serving as Chairman of the Agriculture, Conservation, and Natural Resources Committee, and as Vice-Chair of the Courts of Justice Committee. He has also served on several legislative commissions, such as the Child Support Guidelines Review Panel, and the Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program.

  • Delegate Betsy Carr

    In 2009 Del. Carr was elected to represent parts of the City of Richmond and the County of Chesterfield. She serves on the Appropriations, Transportation, Rules, and General Laws Committees, as well as the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules and the Virginia Housing Commission. Carr is also Treasurer of the House Democratic Caucus.