Skip to content

2019 Legislators of the Year

February 7, 2019

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Virginia (ACEC Virginia) has named Virginia Delegate Chris Peace, representing District 97, and Senator Scott Surovell of District 36 as their 2019 Legislators of the Year.

The two legislators were recognized at ACEC Virginia’s annual Engineering Excellence Awards Gala on February 7, 2019 at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, Virginia.

Senator Scott Surovell

Sen. Surovell, (D-Fairfax), representing Fairfax, Prince William and Stafford, has worked hard since 2010 when he was first elected to the state legislature to solve transportation problems along U.S. Route 1. (He was elected to the House in 2010 and then elected to the Senate in 2016.) As a State Senator, Sen. Surovell has introduced legislation aimed at solving transportation problems on U.S. Route 1 and has presented proposals for systematically adding funds yearly towards the Metro’s maintenance backlog.

Delegate Chris Peace

Del. Peace (R-New Kent), representing New Kent, King William and Hanover, is noted as a politician who will work across the aisle to solve state issues. In last year’s General Assembly, for instance, as chair of the General Laws Committee, he held an educational session for his committee members to learn more about the Virginia Public Procurement Act, an issue very important to the Virginia engineering profession. Del. Peace is known to work hard to understand the issues and to make sure his committee members also understand them.

Award Recipients
Scroll To Top