• 2014 Legislators of the Year

  • Rust and Watkins Named Legislators of the Year

    Delegate Tom Rust and Senator John Watkins were honored at the 2014 Engineering Excellence Awards Gala as the ACEC Virginia Legislators of the Year for their pivotal role in ensuring the Transportation Bill passed. This in turn helps Virginia progress, gives citizens a better built environment and quality of life, and strengthens our state's ability to compete and thrive in the 21st Century.

  • _OJO9329.JPG
  • Delegate of the Year, Tom Rust has represented the 86th District of Virginia, encompassing sections of Fairfax and Loudoun Counties since 2002. Since being elected, he has been appointed to several key committees in the House of Delegates; including Commerce and Labor, Education, Science and Technology and Transportation. He currently serves as Chairman of Transportation, Vice Chairman of Science and Technology and Chairman of the Joint Commission on Technology and Science.

    Prior to serving in the General Assembly, Delegate Rust received his Bachelors of Science in Civil Engineering from Virginia Tech, earned a Master of Science in Public Works Engineering from George Washington University and then a Master of Planning in Urban and Environmental Planning from the University of Virginia. He went on to serve as Mayor of Herndon and on the Herndon Town Council.

  • _OJO9349.JPG
  • Senator of the Year, John C. Watkins was elected to serve in the Virginia Senate's tenth District in 1998, encompassing parts of Powhatan County, Chesterfield County and the City of Richmond. Prior to his election to the Virginia Senate, he served in the House for 16 years. Senator Watkins serves on several key committees; including Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources, Education and Health, Privileges and Elections, and Transportation. He currently serves as Chairman of the Commerce and Labor committee.

    In the private sector, Senator Watkins is the Chairman of the Board of Watkins Nurseries and sits on the Board of Trustees of CJW Medical Center; and chairs the Board of Directors of Essex Bank and Community Bankers Trust.